shortty

Newbie saying hello

;D HELLO

I am new to this site and would just like to introduce myself.

My name is Leanne and I am almost 31 and from Bury, Lancashire.

I have a partner named Steven. 2 daughters, Bethany aged 14 and Madison aged 13 months. I have a small cross breed dog called Lola and a horse called Lanky (don't ask).

I live in my own home, can drive, just :D. I work as a dinner time cover nursery nurse, 3 hours every week day, I also go to university one evening a week where I am studying my BA Hons in Education and Special Educational Needs. My partner is in the army as an engineer but he is leaving in April.

We do not have a parrot yet as we are looking for one still. I have joined here to get a little more information on things so I know I am 100% in choosing the right bird. I have had a senegal for a few months which was not mine, he was my friends but was in the process of moving home so I got the pleasure of looking after him while she moved and got straight. This was quite a few years ago and I knew then I wanted a parrot but never had the funds to provide a good enough home (vet bills etc if anything was needed). Now we do, I would love one to join our family. 

If anyone has ANY advice for me It would be very much appreciated and it will be taken on board.

The breeds I have been looking at so far are Indian Ringnecks although the tails are rather long so maybe not the best with a 13 month old.

Amazons seem to be where I am looking more as they seem to be sturdy birds with less tail than the Ringnecks and not as big a bird as the African Greys.

Also Senegals, again these seem to be sturdy birds with not as much tails and are not too big of a bird.

African Grey's I feel may be a bit too big for my home so I am looking more along the 3 above.

So, enough of me and my blabbing on.

Hello to all and thank you for having me on your site ;D

Leanne xxx

Hi Leanne and welcome .