Sign in to follow this  
David

How was your year?

As the summer season comes to an end I wondered how fellow breeders had done?

In the past 12 months 70% of our breeding*pairs have laid eggs (but of these 30% hatched chicks which did not survive). However only 25% have reared chicks so far. 20% have laid infertile eggs.

*pairs which are adult and compatible.

I should add that I operate a very "hands-off"system with minimal nest-box interference and do not HR.

Hi, about 50% of mine have breed this year.

Spectacled parrotletsx1, mountain parakeetsx2, GMR x3, Peached faced lovebirds x9,

Cockatiels on eggs. Our plumheads will be ready to breed next year. and the rest no joy :(

hiya sorry to introod into this thread (as i am not a breeder with a success rate) but can i ask Greg, is not morally wrong to give your parrot her (would be) babies back to eat? i feel a bit sick even thinking about it!!! but as i said i have no experience of breeding birds and just wondered if this was normal practice? also you may have stopped 7 "unwanted" babies becoming born, but you may have also stopped 7 very much wanted and loved babies becoming born or maybe i just have rose coloured glasses on lol

The practice of boiling eggs means:The fresh eggs are boiled prior to any sign of an embryo (before 3 days of incubation)then the whole egg with the shell on is placed back under the bird so she can sit on them.This prevents the female from laying but the eggs will not hatch.They do not/should not eat the eggs.The right or wrongs of doing this would be subject to much heated debate,on a personal level I would not prevent a bird from breeding.On a legal basis I suspect this prevention of natural behaviour may contravene the Animal Welfare Bill,this is the new law championed by Mr Greg Glendell.