Sign in to follow this  
joel

Terrible Two's???

Hi all. I have read lots of articles and posts about the terrible 2s, to try and prepare myself for when Jasper my Jardines parrot reached that time in his life. But nothing could have prepared me for this...!!!!!

Jasper must be around 14 months old, and up to now has been a wonderful loving little bird. This week he has turned! Lunging at me, biting me so hard...there has been blood and bones clicking in my fingers under the pressure of his beak! He also seems really "wired", and is extremly unpredictable-one minute cuddling under my chin, the next-trying to bite my finger off!

I cant think of anything that is being done differently in my approach to him or his routine that would provoke him.

I can only guess this could be the start of the terrible 2s? Does anyone have any advice? I try so hard not to flinch when he goes for me, but it hurts so much! My right hand looks like i have been repotting cactus for a living! I have also tried to spend more time doing the "step ups" when he is calmer in the mornings but this doesnt seem to be helping.

Whats the best way forward? Are these signs of the terrible 2s??? Please help!!!! Joel

Sounds like it! It will pass.... One tip is to read his body language, there is usually a warning of some kind. My older caique flashes her eyes and goes 'fluffy pants' (that may be unique to caiques of course :wink: ) But there is a warning but some of them are quite subtle.

Thanks for the tip, I will study him. I took him over to my Godmothers yesterday with me for a day out. He was as good as gold, I couldn't believe it! Butter wouldn't melt........!!!

Thanks for the tip, I will study him. I took him over to my Godmothers yesterday with me for a day out. He was as good as gold, I couldn't believe it! Butter wouldn't melt........!!!

That's parrots all over just have to love them no matter what they do.