Sign in to follow this  
timmney

advice needed on sick yc amazon

our yc amazon was diagnosed by the vet with a enlarged liver and with high levels of urinary acid. the prognosis was less than 50% of survival. this was now 3 weeks ago. she is a aviary bird, at the moment indoors, and seemed to have perked up now that she is under the heatlamp. is it safe for her to go out into the aviary again? as she is getting restless in the cage.and would we need a heatlamp in there? which one would you advise on. and where can i get the heatlamp that only gives heat of not light, as our pet parrot does'nt go to sleep and is really grumpy. heatlamp is nearly on for 2o hours. and the last question is, could she be going mad? as she is climbing around in the cage and on floor trying to destroy everything in reach ( foodbowl, paper).

sorry for all the questions but i'm new to having aviary parrots and can use a bit of advise.

thanks

ell

I agree, I wouldn't look at putting her back out now until the weather is much better. The behaviour you describe could just be her frustration at being in a cage when she is used to an aviary. Have you got her in a nice quiet room in the house where she isn't being disturbed as this should help to calm her down?

If the bird seems fit and active you do not need a heatlamp. However unless you have a heated aviary shelter that you can confine her in you will have to keep her indoors. A sudden drop in temperature could be very serious.

thank you for the replys. she only had antibiotics for 7 days. then we changed her food to harrisons (which she loves). she then was fine for 2 weeks. and suddenly she reduced the amount of food dramaticly( that's when she got the heatlamp) and now she's eating again.