Sign in to follow this  
Anita Elisabetta R.

stainless steel cage:black deposit:Avian Adventure's Reply

Just before going in holiday I got a new cage for Pepe. It is the Chiquita stainless steel by Avian Adventures.

When I went to pick Pepe up at Mandy's she showed me that the cage leaves a black stain on paper/fingers/cloth when you clean it.

It loos like a very very fine sticky dust. It does only on the bars and not on all of them. does any of you got a stainless steel cage? Is this normal? Is it safe for Pepe beeing in it?

I have also noticed now that Pepe gets a bit blackish around the beak...I am a bit worried so he is back in his old one.

Please let me know if it is safe for Pepe the Chiquita cage, or if I have to contact the producer and find out!

Thanks

I have no experience of stainless steel cages at all but I know that when I worked in the school kitchen, when cleaning the stainless steel surfaces the cloths used to get black.

Is it just a trait of stainless steel?

I have no idea.

I would email the suppliers for clarification too.

It is most likely a residue of the machining oil from the manufacturing process.

A good wash with very hot water and strong washing up liquid will probably get it off.

I buy thousands of pounds worth of new catering equipment every year and getting black mark on your finger when you rub it, is quite common, it soon disappears with use.

The best thing to shine stainless with, is Johnsons Baby Oil - honestly!

Philip

Hello

I have 2 stainless avian adventures cages (had them for about a year and a half) and still get the black residue when I clean them. You can't see it on the cages, only on the cloth when you wipe them down and look at the cloth if that makes sense. If it's residue from the manufacturing process as P-and-S suggests, then perhaps I'm not cleaning them often enough :? :shock: :oops: :oops:

I'd be interested to see what the suppliers say all the same.