Sign in to follow this  
Freddie

temporary love

As a lot of you possibly know I am a nurse who works on an acute stroke unit. Recently on my ward I had a gentleman who is the very proud owner of a beautiful amazon. thankfully his wife lived at home and was able to look after the birdie during his stay although the little birdie Pippa pined for her daddy. What i was thinking about was what if there was no one able to look after this little birdie what would happen. On admission we ask patients if they have any pets at home etc as we are aware this can be a worry for people. Many of my patients end up having quite a long stay in hospital before returning home and of course where possible would like their pet to return with them. are there places that supply this type of care for animals and would anyone on the forum should a parrot need a 'holiday home' consider fostering if of course they live locally enough. or does anyone have any other ideas. I could probably have a birdie for a day or two if someone else would be able to help out. As yet it has not been an issue but it would help my patients not to be worrying about their beloved pets. Any feed back would be welcomed cheers.

yes it must be more of a worry worrying about your pets when your in hospital for some time :(

i would be more than willing to help someone if i could, not just parrots though, cats can obvioulsy be looked after by a neighbour or someone close as cats like their own teritory.. but even chinchillas and rabbits and smaller animals aswell as birds would need to be fostered till the patient is well again..

if i lived close enough to you??? dunno where you are lol

ive not heard of anywhere to board animals while your ill though?

Here's the link to a trust who help and support elderly people, the terminally or very long term ill, or those going into hospital, with their pets.

The Cinnamon Trust

http://beehive.thisisleicestershire.co.uk/default.asp?WCI=SiteHome&ID=6544&PageID=34979